PMB, GEJ and Jega honoured at Leadership Awards

The 2016 Leadership Awards was held today, October 6 

President Muhammadu Buhari, Dr Goodluck Jonathan and Professor were among the recipients 

Former head of state, General Abudulsalami Abubakar (rtd) chaired the event 

President Muhammadu Buhari, his predecessor, Dr Goodluck Jonathan and the former chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Attahiru Jega were today honoured at the 2016 Leadership Awards.

President Buhari receivng his award from General Abubakar

Dr Jonathan was conspiciously missing at the event but he was represented by the former minister of special duties, Alhaji Saminu Turaki.

President Buhari and other dignitaries on the high table

The event will with the theme ”Democracy, Political Transition and the Challenge of Leadership in Africa” had Akwa Ibom state governor, Mr Udom Emmanuel as the keynote speaker.


The event was chaired by former head of state, General Abudulsalami Abubakar (rtd) and attended by several prominent Nigerians.

L-R: President Buhari, Alhaji Turaki and Professor Jega

 Other awardees were the Speaker of the House of Representatives; Yakubu Dogara, Gombe state governor; Dr Ibrahim Dankwambo, Corps Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps, Mr Boboye Oyeyemi and musician; Korede Bello.

Buhari and Jega

Governor Emmanuel urged political office holders to promote identity politics in Nigeria, adding that the country has common challenges.

“We must develop a national narrative, to promote and protect all that is exceptional about our nation,” Emmanuel said.

On his part, President Muhammadu Buhari said his administration remain open to the press and urged the media not to criticize alone but also join hands with his government to fight corruption.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.